Young cricketers in the spotlight at awards evening

stone SP

Stone SP Cricket Club celebrated the success of their younger players at the annual junior presentation evening on Friday (4th September).

Eleven of their 12 sides were awarded gongs for batting, bowling, fielding, most improved player and player of the year during the evening – and every under-nine player was also awarded a certificate. The 12th side, the Under 17s, will be honoured at the senior presentation in January.

It was a great evening once more with Tim Mountford’s Outback Hog Roasts providing the catering and first-team skipper Richard Harvey and all-rounder and resident “superstar” Matt Coxon sharing the prize-giving duties.

The prizes were:

U9 Storks (managed by Phil Cheadle)

  • Batting = Fraser Dimberline
  • Bowling = Oliver Carney
  • Fielding = Daniel Farrow
  • Most Improved Player = Jacob Banks
  • Player of the Year = Harry Cheadle

U9 Pegasus (managed by Lee McLaughlin)

  • Batting = Joe Young
  • Bowling = Georgia Cuthbert
  • Fielding = Reggie Pardy-McLaughlin
  • Most Improved Player = Dan Foulkes
  • Players of the Year = Jasmine Lovatt & Finlay Baddevithana

U9 A (managed by Dec Wardell)

  • Batting = Jack Harvey
  • Bowling = Jack Batchelor & Harrison Lovatt
  • Fielding = Will Farrow
  • Most Improved Player = Will Mayer
  • Player of the Year = Edward Batchelor

U11 Pegasus (managed by Jim Daughton)

  • Batting = Ryan Courtney
  • Bowling = Joe Harding
  • Fielding = Owen Fielding
  • Most Improved Player = Hugo Rudd
  • Player of the Year = Joe Harding

U11 A (managed by Tim Mountford)

  • Batting = Henry Mountford
  • Bowling = William Allsbury
  • Fielding = Scott Whinray
  • Most Improved Player = Charlie MacDonald
  • Player of the Year = Scott Whinray

U13 Storks (managed by Ian Wright)

  • Batting = Tom Foulkes
  • Bowling = Matthew Wright
  • Fielding = Dylan Reeves
  • Most Improved Player = Neil Dainty
  • Player of the Year = Leo Acheson

U13 Pegasus (managed by Anthony Berendt)

  • Batting = Titus Berendt
  • Bowling = Patrick Brown
  • Fielding = Nicholas Gear
  • Most Improved Player = Nicholas Gear
  • Player of the Year = Titus Berendt

U13 A (managed by Greg Valentine)

  • Batting = EJ Laverty
  • Bowling = Henry Mountford
  • Fielding = Sam Valentine
  • Most Improved Player = Kai Wynter
  • Player of the Year = Jacob Ward

U13 K (managed by Anthony Berendt)

  • Batting = Drew Chandler
  • Bowling = Luke Powell
  • Fielding = Kai Wynter
  • Most Improved Player = Luke Powell
  • Player of the Year = Will Plant

U15B (managed by Andy Slee)

  • Batting = Matt Slee
  • Bowling = George Acheson
  • Fielding = Ellis Welton
  • Most Improved Player = Dominic Wardell
  • Players of the Year = Matt Slee & George Acheson

U15 A (managed by Phil Brundrett)

  • Batting = Jake Powell
  • Bowling = Sam Butters & Harry Brundrett
  • Fielding = Harry Brundrett
  • Most Improved Player = Matt Bailey
  • Player of the Year = Harry Brundrett

Ade Cuthbert from the club said: “Huge thanks as ever to all the people who helped put on such a glittering occasion by sorting trophies, music, raffle, bar and catering. And even bigger thanks to all of the people who during the season were managers, coaches, umpires, scorers, ground staff, sponsors, bar staff, catering and refreshment providers, kit washers, transport providers and especially our ‘Friday Night is Cricket Night’ ladies. We are one big team on and off the field at Stone SP CC.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles